LOGIN | REGISTER

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Longboard advice

Hello. I'm looking for a good single fin noserider. The Pearson Arrow CJ nelson longboard looks like it's exactly what I want, my only issue is that I only weigh 125 pounds. Can anyone suggest a good noserider for my weight?

Images
    Where u located ??? There is a used one on Woody's Surf and Skate in Rio Grande I belive its a 9'2 or 9'4 which would be good for you

I live in belmar new jersey. I'm willing to travel a couple hours tho

If i could tag onto this thread. last year I started riding a 8' walden magic which i liked then got a pearson arrow 9' twin for a good price which i liked much better. i think because of the length and not being epoxy.

however i am thinking about going longer, i weight about 145-150.

living inland i don't get out very often and am still learning. i am wondering if the twin fin set up on the pearson arrow is making it a little more difficult for me to get a solid glide across the face of the wave, though I know i still have learning to do there but feel it go mushy in the back when I try to get locked in. .

So how would a single fin set up and a longer board help get a good glide.

sorry if this is a derail of the thread

Matt knows...

At your weight, you can also consider EPS, which, heavily glassed, will last a good long time and still give you a smooth, glidey, singlefin ride. Noseriders don't need to flex (except the fin, if you like that feel), so a solidly built board would be wise. The same board in PU would be glassed a lot lighter, ding easier, have a shorter lifespan, and be the same weight.

I think weight is good on noseriders, and bigger guys need heavier boards. PU is a good choice for them. But at 125 you have more options.
    Last edited by LBCrew; Feb 4, 2011 at 12:29 AM.

Images
    Yeah a good nose rider should have these things

50/50 Rail

Single fin or 10 to 11 inches which a wide base

Weight

tail rocker