LOGIN | REGISTER

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Hybrid View

columbia SC, and i go to holden beach NC alot

longest waves on the east coast

hey guys,

Im sure someone has asked this question before, but i did a search and didnt see one. anyway ive been surfing for two years now and i would like to start learning how to do more than just go left or right with the wave. however it seems that the instant you get up and drop in and get turned one way, you have about three to five seconds before the whole dang wave is over. i normally surf holden beach or folly beach. im just wondering where the longest waves in the south east are? basically any where from wilmington down to florida. if anyone could give me some help on this i would appreciate it very much.

Thanks AJ

Depends

The east coast (especially the mid Atlantic) is made up mostly of sandbars that are constantly shifting. That combined with swell direction, wind, beach direction, etc. make the east coast really dependent. So length of rides is also constantly changing. Just a few days ago we had some of the longest rights I've ever seen in Wilmington, but the day aterward was full of close outs. Its really hit or miss. I guess Florida usually gets long rides more consistently (especially reef breaks), but I don't surf there so I can't really say.

oh ok thanks for the info. a group of us are wanting to take a trip to somewhere in the southeast. we dont really care if they are really big or anything, we just want them to be longer than what we have here.

thanks for your help david.

Images
    3 to 5 seconds is the norm for much of the east coast unfortunately.

i was afraid that is what i might hear. it sucks seeing the videos on youtube, with people riding waves that go for what seems like a whole minute. what would be the cheapest place to go to that has some decent long waves?

Images
    Quote Originally Posted by radripperaj View Post