LOGIN | REGISTER

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Where should I live?

For the past 5 years I've been scrimping and saving and doing everything I can to finally become a homeowner. I've got a fair amount saved for a down payment, and can borrow enough to buy a "starter home" most places. I grew up an inlander in NJ and moved to the coast (no need for specifics) after school. I've been renting and loving it (2 miles to my break) for 6 years now, but I'm ready to buy. And the housing market suggests that I should.

I've tried asking friends, family, co-workers, etc. for advice...but they just don't get it. ITS ALL ABOUT THE WAVES. I need to be close to the beach. That's the whole reason I moved down here in the first place. The options are: The Barrier Island and The first town over the bridge.

Each has its own pros and cons.

Pros of island living: Really close to the beach. Really close to work. Bike everywhere. It's cool. It's elite. Less crime. Low taxes. Quiet winters. Chicks. WAVES

Cons: Obnoxious in the summer time. Not much bang for my buck in housing. My budget allows only a modest home or condo. No land. Elderly community. My brother lives here. Almost none of my friends live here. I work here. Boring as hell in the winter if theres no waves.

Pros of living just offshore: Much cheaper housing, more land, I can truly AFFORD it. I'd actually have a workspace/garage/yard/driveway. Safer (floods,'canes). Public transportation. Cheaper groceries-seriously. More year-round locals who aren't 150 years old.

Cons: Higher Taxes. Adds a few miles to my commute (to work and surf). Less biking. Not Cool/elite. Feels like I'd be settling for second best. Can still get rowdy in summer months. Impossible to get to Islandtown in timely fashion in summer months. Property unlikely to return on investment like island property.