LOGIN | REGISTER

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 5 fins for NJ

Hybrid View

5 fins for NJ

I'm currently in the market for a new board and I'm very interested in a 5 fin board that will work well for NJ conditions. I've heard that 5 fins tend to break easier due to less foam surrounding the fin boxes, has anyone heard of this? Also, does anyone have a 5 fin that they reccomend for our standard NJ conditions? I've been looking at some Channel Islands cause I have two and they're great boards, but I'm certainly not opposed to any other brand. Any suggestion would be appreciated! Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by NJsurfgrom1 View Post
    I've heard that 5 fins tend to break easier due to less foam surrounding the fin boxes, has anyone heard of this?
    i work in a shop & have (& had) many boards w/ the tri-quad option & have NEVER heard of this or experienced anything of the sort.
    as far as brands, the CI fred rubble is a great nj board. i know a lot of guys that are riding them & absolutely loving them in everything waist high to overhead. ...Lost's mini-driver would be another good choice. same basic idea as the fred rubble-short, stubby board that works in a wide range of conditions.
    i will also say that brian wynn made me a board recently that i've been riding pretty much exclusively this past month that's along the same lines as the aforementioned boards by CI & ...Lost w/ a round tail & tri-quad option, so you can go local as well (which is usually a great bet...i mean, the guy lives & surfs here all the time. he's gonna know what it's like here). when i get a free moment, i'll take some pics of it & post them here or in the quiver thread for you to check out.