LOGIN | REGISTER

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Firewire's Volume Calculator

just punched in my stats and the output seems way too high. A 40 liter volume board feels right to me...but firewire is suggesting closer to 50 liters! (that would be one corky mofo). Anyone else getting suspiciously high results with firewire's volume calculator?

Is there a difference in volume between firewire and other brands? Is there a difference in volume between poly and eps?

Quote Originally Posted by waterbaby View Post
    just punched in my stats and the output seems way too high. A 40 liter volume board feels right to me...but firewire is suggesting closer to 50 liters! (that would be one corky mofo). Anyone else getting suspiciously high results with firewire's volume calculator?

Is there a difference in volume between firewire and other brands? Is there a difference in volume between poly and eps?
    I'm no expert but my shaper is, and he seems to think that volume calculator is a joke

Agree they seem way to high. The CI board selector is more on the mark.

Images
    mine was over about 2 liters.

Take what you normally ride/like in a poly board. If the estimator for epoxy comes in equal or higher, you know it's not accurate. Also when it comes to epoxy boards, pay attention to if it's hand shaped or a punch out, or chinese garbage, etc. Many epoxies have basically no edges on the rails. This adds to the feeling of corkiness or planing too high that people don't like. Surfboards need edges and I see more epoxy boards out there that have none on them.

That calculator spit out a 15' kindling beast. Talk about volume...

There has been and probably never will be an agreement in the shaping industry on how to calculate board volume. The numbers and the formulas vary.

Quote Originally Posted by Erock View Post
    There has been and probably never will be an agreement in the shaping industry on how to calculate board volume. The numbers and the formulas vary.