LOGIN | REGISTER

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Flex

Images

Flex

Flex seems like one of those mysterious, psuedo-surf terms that isn't really measurable. I've experienced it in a couple different boards but someone said best on here that you feel it the most when it's not there.

With that said, where do you feel the most flex on the board and where/how does it affect you on the wave?

I have been surfing for 40 years, and this still has me stumped. LICrew wrote an earlier post about how the board will harmonize with the wave on a vibrational level if surfed properly. For me, I can feel the flex in different fins and how this affects the board a lot more than the flex of the board itself. I have been riding old boards the last few years, except for the fish I made, and it was glassed with epoxy, so it doesn't have much flex but it still rides great for the waves I designed it for. It could be faster if it flexed more when I pump it down the line for more speed, but it is pretty darn fast as it is. I am going old school fiberglass on the hplb that was just shaped, so I can feel and play with the flex on some juicy waves on the big board. Good question bro!

Seriously though, Roy probably knows a thing or two about it.

I feel it most when I bounce off the foam on a lip, when coming out of a real tight, but fast turn when you're right past the apex or anytime I land an air. It becomes most noticeable to me then. I only notice it on longboards when I put the board through a lot of stress, like pulling a floater on my 9'2". Last time I did that it wasn't planned, I was just surfing closed out beach break. The board almost seemed to buckle and when I got out of the water, it had actually delammed from the stress. Too much flex.

Oh yeah, one more thing.