LOGIN | REGISTER

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

West Coast Surf Spots

I know this is a broad range of surf spots but I am taking a trip to California around Christmas week. I'll be driving up the coast starting from L.A. and ending in San Fransisco around New Years. This is my first time going north of Malibu so I am wondering if anyone has any suggestions for surf spots in a couple of different areas: Santa Barbara County, San Luis Obispo, Morro Bay, Monterey, Santa Cruz, and San Fransisco. I'm looking for fun spots that are not too heavy or sketchy or out of my league. I've been researching and looking for the best places to paddle out but its hard to tell just off the internet. First-hand experience is always better so any suggestions would be great. Thanks a lot!

West Coast Surf Spots

don't know if it will help, but try posting on the west coast forum

Quote Originally Posted by DJFresh View Post
    don't know if it will help, but try posting on the west coast forum
    Yea I was thinking about that, but I figured if I did post it there, most surfers wouldn't want to reveal their spots. Also, I don't think there are as many users (on swellinfo.com) from the west coast as the number of users from the east coast so I figured it would be better to hear from a wide range of surfers- most of whom have traveled quite a bit.

Images

Your best bet. . .

. . .would be planning to stay as close to Trestles for as long as possible. Always a quality wave, even when crowded. Oh yeah, be sure to avoid Huntington Beach, unless you like the scene. Santa Cruz has a couple of good spots, but it's a long drive from So. Cal.

If you're into sight seeing, definitely do the Big Sur road- at least once in your lifetime. Mavs can be a bit heavy, not to mention cold. San Francisco, is, well, San Francisco. Nice place to visit, but I wouldn't want to live there, unless you really like street people.

Quote Originally Posted by MDSurfer View Post