LOGIN | REGISTER

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tropical Storm invest

Just curious about tropical storm invests. How are they named? It seems like they are all 90 something (current one 93L). Also, how do invests become tropical storms, it is based on wind speed or pressure? Thanks.

I have no idea... but theres a storm brewing!?!? where is it i dont see it under the hurrican tab on swellinfo

more hurricanes?

I know with the above average water temps for this time of the year, is it possible that we will have an above average hurricane season, Im no scientist but my money is on a good season for storms....

Images
    Quote Originally Posted by lisurfer View Post
    Just curious about tropical storm invests. How are they named? It seems like they are all 90 something (current one 93L). Also, how do invests become tropical storms, it is based on wind speed or pressure? Thanks.
    Someone correct me if i'm wrong but I believe there needs to be clear counter-clockwise rotation in addition to a sustained windspeed of 39mph.

http://www.nhc.noaa.gov/aboutgloss.shtml

Images
    Quote Originally Posted by sosodel View Post
    I have no idea... but theres a storm brewing!?!? where is it i dont see it under the hurrican tab on swellinfo
    http://www.swellinfo.com/tropical/in...n=NT&year=2009

wb and you can find me at crystal and sweetwater and all over wb.
    Quote Originally Posted by stoneybaloney View Post
    hey i like that avatar picture you have.

Images
    I know with the above average water temps for this time of the year, is it possible that we will have an above average hurricane season, Im no scientist but my money is on a good season for storms....

Actually the real scientist are predicting we're gonna have a el nino effect this year which means more shear and and fewer storms in the Atlantic.