LOGIN | REGISTER

Hybrid View

Paddling question

I have been surfing for about 6 yrs now and my arms still get tired pritty fast. The more I am in thr water the longer I last but do not have an endurance for long paddles or when I have to fight threw waves to get out. I think I tend to paddle farely deep like I am swimming. Should I be paddling shallower, top of the water, or does anyone have any other sugestions. Thanks

Images
    Quote Originally Posted by fallingsky View Post
    I have been surfing for about 6 yrs now and my arms still get tired pritty fast. The more I am in thr water the longer I last but do not have an endurance for long paddles or when I have to fight threw waves to get out. I think I tend to paddle farely deep like I am swimming. Should I be paddling shallower, top of the water, or does anyone have any other sugestions. Thanks
    It's probably the winter chills sucking away your energy, but I've heard that angling your arms underneath your board at the apex (if that's what you'd call it) of your stroke is supposed to help. Maybe make sure that your are getting a full stroke thus getting the most energy out of each stroke.

For me,I go with smooth deep strokes keeping my arms close to the board.For endurance I run so that helps me to stay in shape for paddleing.

It is worse in the winter cause of the cold but I still notice it in the summer to. I had bought my wife a treadmill that she does not use so I am starting to use it to build up endurance. I am also starting to do yoga to help prevent neck and back injuries. I tend to get tweeked alot for not streatching and keep limber. It tough getting older snd noticing you can't just do what you use to.

Images