LOGIN | REGISTER

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: linseed

Images

linseed

Hey guys, im planning on making another wooden alaia paipo, but im going to use the "professional stuff" to finish it this time. I have Refined Linseed Oil... and Boiled Linseed oil.... I know its really dangerous stuff, so im aksing if you guys know wich is safer and better to use

I'm no pro, but I do know that straight linseed oil of any variety isn't recommended as a finish for alaias. It's always used in combination with other products. One guy who does a lot of wood boards says he and others have gone to using a mix of half minwax tung oil and minwax quick drying polyruethane. It basically penetrates the wood like linseed, but forms a kind of mildew-resistant varnish within the grain of the wood when it cures. It won't leach out of the wood like linseed will, and looks better as well. It's recommended that you do about 3 coats, 24 hrs apart.
    Last edited by LBCrew; Jul 1, 2010 at 06:22 PM.

Suggest searching out Swaylocks where quite a few experienced shapers discuss these things. Also try an Internet search with terms such as wood, surf, alaia, paipo, minwax, varnish.

Images
    Quote Originally Posted by rodndtube View Post
    Suggest searching out Swaylocks where quite a few experienced shapers discuss these things. Also try an Internet search with terms such as wood, surf, alaia, paipo, minwax, varnish.
    i think im gonna do the tung oil/polyruethane mix, i read that mixture in swaylocks.

Images
    Quote Originally Posted by mexsurfer View Post
    i think im gonna do the tung oil/polyruethane mix, i read that mixture in swaylocks.
    I was surfing tuesday with a guy who makes paipos and alaias in Delaware and i believe that was exactly the mixture he mentioned. He 5'0" looked really nice

Images
    The other combination that works well is a 50/50 mix of linseed oil and gum turpentine.

Quote Originally Posted by S2Kreative View Post