workouts for surfing?

Discussion in 'Global Surf Talk' started by hcsurf15, Mar 12, 2013.

1. Kahuna Kai

Kahuna Kai Well-Known Member

Dec 13, 2010
    Just bench press and ignore the rest of your body. You'll look super cool. HOW MUCH YA BENCH?!?!?!

Call me when you grow hair on your back and can bench more than 525 pencilnecks

2. McLovin

McLovin Well-Known Member

Jun 27, 2010
    I asked about the pros/cons of running for surfing. I have been running for recreation and exercise for about 6 years now (3-4 miles/day). It obviously has benefits for cardiovascular endurance, but was concerned if it had a bad effect on surfing down the road, especially when I get older with my joints.

Anyway, I found that combining running and trips to the gym to be the most effective for my surfing. I would sandwich the gym between my running days. If there are waves I'll substitute surfing for the gym. There are days where I'll feel really tired than the usual out in the water, even though my routine has not changed, and I attribute that to diet. At some point I'll start to pay closer attention to what I eat, but not now.

3. DawnPatrol321

DawnPatrol321 Well-Known Member

Mar 6, 2012
    Diet will definitely play a big role in that, but so will exercising too hard the day before, or even two days before a surf session. I try to rest the day before or even two before a session depending on how big it's going to be out. If it's under head high it's usually not an issue, but when it's pumping out I like to have 100% of my strength and endurance, so backing off the throttle just before paddling out I think helps. If you surf daily then i'd simply cut back on the gym, it'll exaust your muscles before you even hit the beach.

4. RIsurfer

RIsurfer Well-Known Member

Dec 5, 2012