side bites or no side bites that is my question

Discussion in 'Mid Atlantic' started by robernt3, May 26, 2009.

1. robernt3

robernt3 Member

May 31, 2008
    Hey guys,

I'm new to surfing, in my second year. I've been looking at some mini longboards for the summer time surf. I'm looking at a 6'8'' walden with a three fin set up with side bites, and another board i forget the name but its got a single fin only. the guy at the surf shop seemed like a really cool guy, and told me that the walden obviously has more versatility in that you can take the side bites off. but my question is what do the side bites do for you? as a beginner is it better to have them or just do the single fin. or does it even matter? both are priced about the same
    i appologize if this was a dumb question, but your advice and comments are appreciated

2. robernt3

robernt3 Member

May 31, 2008
    the other board is a harbour

3. Mikey

Mikey Well-Known Member

Oct 3, 2008
    sidebites can serve a couple of purposes:

1. with a medium sized center fin (6"-7") the sidebites help bite into the face of a steep wave to make the drop without spinning out. i like small sidebites (3.5") for this setup. this makes for a board that has pretty much neutral handling--it turns when you make it do so and tracks when you give it no input.

2. i really like using larger sidebites (4.5") with a small center fin (4.5") to make my speed log into a true thruster. makes steep drops no problem and when standing on the tail of the board, i can do tighter turns--really good for getting the heck out of dodge on a big closeout.

3. or you can use no sidebites at all with a larger center fin (7.5" or larger) for a groovy '70's feel--longer more drawn out turns, steady tracking and a bit more speed down the line. i ride a 7-8 retro shortboard a lot, and i pretty much keep it a single fin--it's just groovy.