Fear of surf after having kids

Discussion in 'Mid Atlantic' started by jettyflea, Feb 20, 2016.

1. jettyflea

jettyflea Well-Known Member

Apr 12, 2013
    I have a lot of experience around chemo. People who never lost anything are lucky but are always behind people who lost.

2. Barry Cuda

Barry Cuda Guest

Betty, do you, or can you, take an albuterol canister WITH YOU INTO THE WATER??
    Point is, you should always have one within reach, ALWAYS, no exception.

3. Barry Cuda

Barry Cuda Guest

To your original question, jetty-- maybe your recent onset of fear is not due to physical limitations because of having kids. It is plausible that your fear originates from a good trait--responsability. You have kids AND a wife depending on you and this may be bothering you as you enter the water?? Perfectly acceptable and normal human response to a risk taking adventure (which surfing is, especially near jetties!).
    As for physical limitations, yesterday I went out, waves were chest to head high; Tide was low so it meant a longer paddle out. When I got out there, I was winded. I work with weights, take long walks, cycle when wether allows, etc. Pretty good shape for a 65 year old, I am told. Winded? So, every wave I then rode it first along its wall, then turned and rode the whitewater right up to the beach. Forced myself to paddle way out again. Did that the first five waves. Last one wave, when I got out there, I was no longer winded. Tired? Yes; winded no.
    You will find a solution that works for you. Quitting surfing is NOT one. Take your time. Give your kids a hug--they are wayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy more important. So is you wife.
    Let me know when you find YOUR solution. Would love to hear it.

4. Betty

Betty Well-Known Member

Oct 14, 2012
    Dear Barry:

Yep. I toke up with the albuterol 30 minutes prior and keep that lifeline on the beach. Thanks for the advice though.

Sincerely, your favorite moron, Betty

5. Barry Cuda

Barry Cuda Guest