Initial Stance

Discussion in 'All Discussions' started by JohnnyCornstarch, Mar 1, 2016.

1. JohnnyCornstarch

JohnnyCornstarch Well-Known Member

Feb 24, 2015
    I've been surfing consistently for 3 years now, but one thing I've struggled to this day with is proper foot placement every time. Sure, getting up on the board is easy, but I'd say about 40% of the time my back foot and front foot end up being too far forward.

It seems like I thrust myself too far forward from time to time and end up in a barrel-stance rather than one where my back foot is on the back bump of the traction pad.

Btw, there is literally no worse feeling than getting a perfectly good wave and not having good footing.

I was considering a front traction pad but to prevent me from lunging too far forward but not sure how much that'd help, thoughts?

2. ScobeyviIIe

ScobeyviIIe Well-Known Member

Nov 3, 2015
    I love my front foot trac pad!
    Go to Northshoreinc.com you can get Square foot sheets with 3M adhesive for $8.5/SqFt

I do notice, when I'm not wearing booties, It's way harder to shuffle your feet around.

3. ScobeyviIIe

Nov 3, 2015
  4. DawnPatrol321

DawnPatrol321 Well-Known Member

Mar 6, 2012
    Just be mindful of it every time you go to pop up, takes practice and repetition, I sometimes end up too far forward as well but when I focus on it I'm able to correct it. Your body will go where your mind goes. Maybe a wider stance to begin with might help? Maybe your just putting your feet too close together. Don't go all sinkbug on us though!

5. LazyE

LazyE Well-Known Member

Aug 6, 2014