Close Calls

Discussion in 'Northeast' started by EmassSpicoli, May 7, 2013.

1. DosXX

DosXX Well-Known Member

Mar 2, 2013
    Emass:
    My 2 centavos.
    From your statement "...got a lot of catching up to do to you vets. Need to log those hours...", it sounds like you're on an urgent quest to make up for lost time and cram in as much surfing as quickly possible. I can sort of understand that, as I started learning to surf later in life. I'm 57 and have been only at it since August of last year. Sometimes I wish I had started sooner. Surfing is certainly addicting and consuming. I've often had to remind myself to be grateful for the experience (bad and good) and enjoy the journey. It's similar to learning martial arts, with which I've had some experience. Many beginners want to know right off how long it will take to earn a black belt. They're obsessed with getting a black belt in as short amount of time as possible. But in the process, they often miss the whole point, meaning, spirit, and the "art" of martial arts. There's more to it than just the mechanics. There's also a certain "seasoning" that comes with time. This is important too. I think surfing is somewhat similar in that regard.

2. biff22

biff22 Well-Known Member

Dec 28, 2011
    yea... this guy can't be serious. i said before he's a hoax... now I'm convinced.

3. cackedinri

cackedinri Well-Known Member

May 21, 2012

u <3 dix and live in cambridge

4. DawnPatrol321

DawnPatrol321 Well-Known Member

Mar 6, 2012
    Great points you make, agree with it 100%, take your time and enjoy the journey

5. Valhallalla

Valhallalla Well-Known Member

Jan 24, 2013
    Just resurrecting some epicness. Somehow, I always pictured Emass' event going down something like this:

Last edited: Dec 3, 2018
  6. ScobeyviIIe

ScobeyviIIe Well-Known Member

Nov 3, 2015
  7. your pier

your pier Well-Known Member

Dec 2, 2013