Tell me again why your boards start at $700

Discussion in 'All Discussions' started by grainofsand, Jun 21, 2018.

1. jaklsurfs

jaklsurfs Well-Known Member

Apr 26, 2015
  2. jaklsurfs

jaklsurfs Well-Known Member

Apr 26, 2015
    But maybe Walmart will start sellin em and yu can really save some money

headhigh, heaps of Meh and La_Piedra like this.

3. cepriano

cepriano Well-Known Member

Apr 20, 2012
    I wouldn't blame the shapers for overpriced work.i build shit for a living so I know how costs all go down and its fucking expensive.

idk how much time goes into building a board but where I work the quote is 100/hr.thats just the labor.then u got to factor in material,tools,consumables.i just finished a job building little water manifold sprayer things for a steel mill that goes around a big cylinder that flattens cherry hot steel.things are 1800$ a piece,i think I made 14 of them,3 different sizes

4. cepriano

cepriano Well-Known Member

Apr 20, 2012
    and with the new tarrifs on steel,just made shit so much worse.engineer came out the other day talking about if we buy it today its $35k.if they wait til the drawings are approved its $55k.all our steel is from local distributors but the distributors get it from canada

5. smitty517

smitty517 Well-Known Member

Oct 30, 2008
    Yawl got some good hook ups. I picked up a custom LB from the brother of a super well known shaper last year and still paid $900! With that being said I got no regrets as the board is dynOmite

6. La_Piedra

La_Piedra Well-Known Member

Oct 9, 2017
    I totally remember when this guy was a local shaper down in IB, the best Boca Rio surfers were all riding his shapes.

Good shaper, I'd ride his shapes. Especially at around $500. I think my last custom Hank Warner was $550 with a polished finish. That guy's shaped a few over the years too lol.