Career / Life Advise Tread

Discussion in 'All Discussions' started by DawnPatrol321, Aug 9, 2018.

1. DawnPatrol321

DawnPatrol321 Well-Known Member

Mar 6, 2012
    I have a decision to make regarding my career. I have come to a point where I'm no longer happy doing what I'm doing for a living and am starting to consider other options. I have been doing the same thing for nearly 15 years so I'm stuck in a comfort zone but i'm also stuck in a rut, professionally.

I love the fact that I am able to surf every day there are waves as a result of working from home and having an 8:30-5:30 M-F schedule. I have become spoiled the last 3 years having this setup, but there is a cost and that is i'm doing something I don't like or sometimes even hate, just so that I can do what I love every day if conditions permit.

So my struggle or challenge is going to be finding something else to do where I don't have to give up my lifestyle. It was the whole reason I moved here in the first place, so I would hate to lose that and go back to being a weekend warrior. My wife says at least I live here now and I don't have to drive 2 - 2.5hrs each way to get a surf in. She's right, but having the ability to surf Monday - Friday too is special and hard to come by.

Also, getting a new job means I have to stop smoking the herb for a while, which I do daily to treat anxiety / depression, and hyperhidrosis. It's something I can do, but not something I look forward to. So there's that.

So I have some decisions to make here, just wondering what your thoughts are. What would you do? Would you keep doing the same thing just so that the ocean or surfing is available to you 7 days a week? Or would you take a job that makes you happier than your current job but surf less? Or would you somehow figure out how to have the best of both worlds? If so, how does that work?

cepriano likes this.
  2. MrBigglesworth

MrBigglesworth Well-Known Member

Jun 29, 2018