Opinions on big guy short boards

Discussion in 'All Discussions' started by SFinnn, Apr 15, 2019.

1. SFinnn

SFinnn Member

Apr 15, 2019
    I'm sure this subject has been brought up before. Im an older guy, say 54, weigh about 230 and I'm 6'4" -- not a little person. Probably been surfing 35 years. Generally fit, been riding modern retro boards, both singles , a 7 ft stinger and a 6'8" Takayama outline concave diamond tail. I like them both very much, I don't do airs, I power carve.....
    So, I've been in Nicca for a week and it is not Central Fl, I'm finding the boards I love so much don't do late drops or catch waves as well as I think they should, I'm not a pro, wouldn't even call myself advanced.
    All of that being said, do any of you older/bigger guys have a particular big guy short board you like? What do you like about it? I'm kinda looking for the best of all worlds, needs to paddle decent, I need to be able to duck it and of course get into waves easier and ride well. I'm just curious, with decades of board building experience, I'm seemingly missing something. Appreciate all and any views.

2. antoine

antoine Well-Known Member

Mar 10, 2013
    we need to know a bit more, if you're in central fl how about checking with ricky carrol in rockledge ,,, sounds like you might need a custom and years of knowledge that he can supply,

MrBigglesworth and Mitchell like this.

3. SFinnn

SFinnn Member

Apr 15, 2019
    That's a given when I get back, I worked for Ricky a while back and he actually shaped my two singles, the quality of his work and breath of knowledge is amazing. Thanks for your input

Last edited: Apr 15, 2019
  4. UnfurleD

UnfurleD Well-Known Member

Jul 13, 2016