buying a longboard..

Discussion in 'Mid Atlantic' started by mOtion732, Aug 12, 2010.

1. mOtion732

mOtion732 Well-Known Member

Sep 18, 2008
    just looking for a little info from the longboard crowd..

i've been riding a shortboard for about 5 yrs - never even picked up a longboard until 2 weekends ago in some small surf. i had an absolute blast just walking the board and noseriding, even doing some small turns.

i can't always get it when it's big and perfect, but i do whenever possible. riding a shortboard in knee-waist high surf gets pretty boring and short lived, that's why i think a longboard will let me have more fun on smaller days.

i'm 5'9 155lbs. not looking for some huge 10' tanker. i'd rather something in the 8' range and more performance based, but still can catch the small stuff and not **** out.

anyone have any advice on what to look for?

one board that caught me was the walden magic model 8'..

2. tbeaver

tbeaver Member

Aug 7, 2009
    First off, 8' is not a longboard. There is no such thing as a mini-longboard, no matter what Steve Walden says.

If you're going to get a longboard, go b***s out. I'm even smaller than you, and I absolutely LOVE my 9'4" and 9'6" logs.

I would avoid Walden in general. If you really want to get into longboarding, get yourself a handshaped, poly, glassed log. There really is no "all around" longboard, but things like noseriding, etc. are more about the user than the board - though some boards are better-designed for noseriding.

I'd suggest something in the 9'2" to 9'6" range with a single fin - nice and big. Don't bother with 2+1 - performance longboarding is like having sex with a condom, you can do it, but something just doesn't feel right.

Now if all you want is something to tool around on in summer crowds and have no ambitions to be CJ Nelson, Dane Peterson or Al Knost, get a pop-out. That way if you give a kook a haircut and ding your board in the process, you won't be too bummed!

3. mOtion732