Glassing

Discussion in 'Mid Atlantic' started by wontonwonton, May 20, 2009.

1. wontonwonton

wontonwonton Well-Known Member

Mar 13, 2007
    I finished a 5'11'' single fin balsa egg. I didnt attatch the fin yet. I want it glassed on

Does anyone know how to glass or know anyone who does.

2. Aguaholic

Aguaholic Well-Known Member

Oct 26, 2007
    Glassing is an art in itself. It's not just throwing on some resin with a brush. Post a pic of the board you want glassed.

http://www.surfersteve.com/glassing.htm if you wanna do it yourself.

or hit me up on PM I'll do it for $100. I just did 1 of mine last week.

Last edited: May 20, 2009

3. wontonwonton

Mar 13, 2007
    Dude, i know about the cloth and wrap the rails. And glassing the fin on may be hard. I have never done it and want someone with experience to do it right.

4. Aguaholic

Aguaholic Well-Known Member

Oct 26, 2007
    if you post a pic of it (underside). I can tell you what needs to be done. I have a lot of experience in repairs. And, just noticed you are in PA. So, sry I probably won't be able to do it.

5. Mitchell

Mitchell Well-Known Member

Jan 5, 2009
    If you can get the board glassed / fin glassed on for $100, that is a great price. You should hit that offer up.

6. epidemicepic

epidemicepic Well-Known Member

Feb 21, 2008
    whats wrong with a plain old fin box?? especially with a homemade board, you want to be able to change around your fin set-up, and they are alot easier to install.

7. wontonwonton

Mar 13, 2007
    I probably am more regular at a lot of spots than a lot of people so easy there on the PA stuff.

Where are you aguaholic located. I am serious that i may hit that offer up if things work out. Im in bethany and have access to NJ so am willing to drive a way. Ill post pics on the gallery.

8. Mitchell

Mitchell Well-Known Member

Jan 5, 2009