Our Surf Breaks in Jeopardy due to Pollution : Protest Aug 11th, Stuart Beach

Discussion in 'East Florida' started by Protect Your Beach, Aug 6, 2013.

1. Protect Your Beach

Protect Your Beach Member

Aug 6, 2013
    Our Surf Breaks and Beaches Are Being Poisoned.

We are having cyanobacteria blooms (blue-green algae) and the water is so dangerous in the estuary people are becoming sick from enteric bacteria infections. Our Health Dept, Martin County, has issued warnings to avoid contact with the water for months now (and every year during the rainy season). Residents are reporting ear infections and pink eye from the beaches adjacent to the Inlet too. FYI I am an Environmental Tech, it is my job to know the facts.

My dive video : What this poison looks like underwater (view in HD)
    [video=youtube;SQlabMNP8N4]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SQlabMNP8N4[/video]
    Join the Event on facebook:https://www.facebook.com/events/635279196497094/
    6.30.13 Poison spilling out of our Inlet Photo credit Jacqui Thurlow-Lippisch.jpg

Last edited by a moderator: Aug 6, 2013
  2. DawnPatrol321

DawnPatrol321 Well-Known Member

Mar 6, 2012
    Any chance this problem has made it's way up to North / Central FL? My eyes were on FIRE on Sunday, might of been sunscreen but IDK, it was brutal. I normally use the Coppertone stick on my face and lotion on my body but I forgot the stick this time and only used the lotion (on my face), so that could of been the issue, but figured if that were the case it would have worn off eventually, but I was blinded most of the session, to the point I had to put my sunglasses on to be able to even open them. I rinsed them with fresh bottled water several times after I left and after about 45 minutes to an hour they finally simmered down.

3. seldom seen

seldom seen Well-Known Member

Aug 21, 2012
    Probly all the damn fertilizers we use causing the blooms.

4. brewengineer

brewengineer Well-Known Member

Jun 22, 2011